Mennonite Church Alberta Annual Delegates Sessions Minutes Saturday, March 20, 2021 9:30 am zoom

Ninety-three people were in attendance, including staff, guests, and visitors. Forty-five delegates represented eleven churches.

### **Opening & Worship**

Opening/Welcome - Brenda Tiessen-Wiens (Moderator) Parliamentarian: Vince Friesen Resolutions Committee: Debbie Baergen, Paul Neufeldt, Brenda Tiessen-Wiens, Tim Wiebe-Neufeld Introduction of Guests

# MC Canada

- Doug Klassen, MC Canada Executive Minister
- Arlyn Friesen Epp Director, CommonWord
- Jeanette Hanson International Witness, MC Canada
- Steve Heinrichs Indigenous Settler Relations
- Katie Doke-Sawatzky MC Canada Communications

# MC BC

- Garry Janzen, MC BC Executive Minister

### Schools

- Terry Schellenberg, (VP External, Canadian Mennonite University)
- Alex Tiessen (Rosthern Junior College Admissions & Development)

- Doug Amstutz (Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary – Canadian Development Associate)

# **Partner Organizations**

- Ginny Hostetler (Executive Editor) (Canadian Mennonite)
- Tobi Thiessen (Publisher) (Canadian Mennonite)
- Ernie Engbrecht (board chair) (MCC)
- Orlando Vasquez (Associate & Program Director) (MCC)
- Abe Janzen (MCC)
- Dale Taylor (MCC)
- Jim Shantz (Indigenous Neighbours Program) (MCC)
- Marguerite Jack (Mennonite Mutual Insurance Constituency Relations)

Introduction of Nominees - Ruth Friesen and Gladys Heidebrecht Committees:

Elizabeth Wall (Edmonton First), Secretary Eric Peters (Foothills), Camp Valaqua Darrel Heidebrecht (Foothills), Camp Valaqua Christine Hansplant (Calgary First), Camp Valaqua Christine Koop (Foothills), Finance Ryan Dueck (Lethbridge), Congregational Leadership Anna-Lisa Salo (Bergthal), Congregational Leadership Marie Moyer (Lethbridge), Mission and Service Vince Friesen (Edmonton First), Mission and Service Coreen Froese (Bergthal), Community Building and Program Gladys Heidebrecht (Foothills), Nominating

Representatives: Art Koop, *Canadian Mennonite* Suzanne Gross, Palestine-Israel Network Margaret Kruger-Harder, Joint Council.

Thanks to those whose service is ending: Ruth Friesen, Jim Moyer, Beth Moyer, Paul Neufeldt, Deanna Willms, Kevin Stoesz.

Worship & Sharing led by Calgary Chin Christian Church, remarks by Peter Sang Prayer for Calgary Chin Christian Church - Anna-Lisa Salo

#### **Business Session**

Year in Review Power Point MCBC greetings - Garry Janzen, Executive Minister MC Canada video & update - Doug Klassen, Executive Minister Joint Council Rep Report - Margaret Kruger-Harder CMU Video & Greetings from Terry Schellenberg Introduction of and Prayer for Ken and Gwen Wellington, Love Wins Cranbrook - Tim Wiebe-Neufeld Constitution/Bylaw Discussion - Paul Neufeldt

6. Special Resolution: Be it resolved that MCA approve in principle the proposed changes to the MCA Constitution and Bylaws as found in the document titled "MCA Constitution and Bylaws for Approval - Revised March 10 2021" for submission to Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Moved: Paul Neufeldt, Lethbridge Seconded: Wayne Janz, Calgary First Passed.

Questions for all programs / Report on Feedback from Workshops

Approval of Last Year's Minutes

**Resolutions:** 

 Be it resolved that MCA approve the minutes from the March 28, 2020 Annual Delegate Sessions, as presented in the Report Book.
Moved: Elizabeth Wall, Edmonton First
Seconded: Werner De Jong, Holyrood
Passed.

Approval of 2020 Audited Financial Statements

2. Be it resolved that MCA adopt the 2020 audited financial statements as distributed. Moved: Wayne Janz, Calgary First Seconded: Kate Janzen, Foothills Passed.

Approval of Auditors for 2021 Fiscal Year

4. Be it resolved that MCA appoint Aperture Chartered Professional Accountants as auditors for 2021. Moved: Wayne Janz, Calgary First Seconded: Coreen Froese, Bergthal Passed.

Presentation of 2021 Budget - Wayne Janz Approval of 2021 Budget

3. Be it resolved that MCA adopt the 2021 budget as presented in the Report

Book and amended.

Moved: Wayne Janz, Calgary First

Seconded:Vincent Friesen, Edmonton First

Amendment to add \$3,000 to budget for Camp facility upgrades. Moved: Joani Neufeldt, Lethbridge, Seconded: Wayne Janz, Calgary First. Passed. Passed. Approval of Nominations 5. Be it resolved that MCA approve the Nominations as presented. Moved: Ruth Friesen, Edmonton First Seconded: Gladys Heidebrecht, Foothills Passed.

Commissioning of Volunteers - Tim Wiebe-Neufeld (Executive Minister)

Announcements Lunch Break 12:00-1:00

Worship & E3 Year 2 Worship led by Chin Church E3 Year 2 by Werner De Jong Closing of Sessions Closing Worship led by Chin Church